State Parks
Wildlife Diversity
Law Enforcement
Office of Land And Streams
State Wildlife Center
Disability Services
go Wild!
License Plate
Fun Zone
Administration Home News/Information Contact Us DNR Home   

Joe Manchin III, Governor

Frank Jezioro, Director


News Release : July 7, 2006


Hoy Murphy, Public Information Officer (304) 558-3381

Contact: Ken Caplinger, Parks and Recreation Section Acting Chief (304) 558-2764


West Virginia State Parks and Forests Offers Pet-friendly Cabins or Cottages


  Effective August 1, 2006, West Virginia State Parks and Forests will begin taking reservations for designated pet-friendly cabins or cottages at Babcock, Beech Fork, Blackwater Falls, Bluestone, Cacapon Resort, Canaan Resort, Cass Scenic Railroad, Holly River, Lost River, North Bend, Pipestem Resort, Twin Falls Resort, Tygart Lake and Watoga state parks and Cabwaylingo, Greenbrier, Kumbrabow and Seneca state forests.


  “In an effort to make stays more enjoyable for guests who travel with pets and with the support and encouragement of the WV Legislature and the Administration,  West Virginia State Parks and Forests has implemented this new pet program at some of our most popular parks,” says Acting State Parks Chief Ken Caplinger.    


  Under a new rule passed by the legislature and signed by Governor Manchin the following pet policy was approved by DNR Director Frank Jezioro and Commerce Secretary Thomas Bulla to ensure the safety and enjoyment of all guests. 


  • Dogs and cats are the only pets permitted in designated pet-friendly cabins or cottages. These pet-friendly cabins or cottages are selected by the area superintendent.


  • There is a $40 charge per pet for the first night of the stay and $5 for each additional night.  A $50 security deposit, payable by credit card only is required.  All or any portion of this deposit may be forfeited for any violations of this policy and damages in excess of the deposit will be charged to your credit card.  Repairs and replacement costs charged for damages will be assessed from a standard statewide fee schedule.


  • A maximum of two (2) pets permitted per cabin or cottage.


  • Pets shall not be left unattended in cabins or cottages unless securely crated.


  • Pets shall be restrained in public areas at all items on a sturdy leash not to exceed ten (10) feet in length and in accordance with general park pet rules.


  • Guests must clean up after their pet(s) including the yard around the cabin or cottage.  If there is a designated walking area in or near the cabin area, it must be used.


  • Pet food cannot be kept outside as this could attract unwanted wildlife.


  • Pets cannot be tied up or chained in the cabin or cottage yard or porch.


  • Pets must be current on vaccinations and in good health.  Certification from a veterinarian of vaccinations is required.


  • All pet owners must sign a pet policy liability form upon check-in.


  Park and forest staff reserves the right to terminate a stay without refund of any guest whose pet(s) are considered a nuisance.  Violation of this policy or damage to the facility may prevent further participation in the pet program at West Virginia State Parks and Forests.


  For more information about the new pet program, please call (304) 558-2764 or visit the WV State Parks Web site at .



 | goWILD |  WV State Parks |  Wonderful WV Magazine |  State of West Virginia Home Page | 
 | Law Enforcement |  Wildlife Diversity | 
Contact Webmaster
© 2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources