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Except as authorized below, it is illegal to take fish by any means other than by rod, line and hooks.

It is illegal to:
•	 use a firearm, crossbow, dynamite or any like explosive, or 

a poisonous mixture placed in the water for the purpose of 
killing or taking fish, frogs, aquatic turtles or other forms of 
aquatic life.

•	 fish with more than two (2) lines or poles in an impoundment 
stocked with trout by the DNR from January 1 – May 31.

Bow Fishing
Carp may be taken by bow year-round; other nongame fish may 
be taken by bow during all months of the year except May and 
June. All anglers must have a valid fishing license in order to 
fish using a bow. All persons using a bow to fish must observe 
all applicable fishing regulations.

It is illegal to:
•	 use an arrow having an explosive head or shaft or an arrow 

dipped in or smeared with poison or other chemicals.

Dipping
Dipping for nongame fish is legal from February 1 to midnight 
April 30 with a valid West Virginia fishing license. A dip net may 
not exceed 36 square feet in overall area, and its mesh may not 
be smaller than one-fourth (1/4) inch.

The Diamond Darter is a fish species protected under the Federal 
Endangered Species Act. It is illegal to take this fish species and  
use it for any purpose including as live bait for fishing.

Gigging, Snagging and Snaring
Suckers, carp, fallfish and creek chubs may be taken by snaring 
year-round. Other nongame fish, certain turtles (see Turtles, 
Frogs, Toads and Salamander Regulations on page 9) and eels 
may be taken by gigging, snagging, or snaring from January 1 
– May 15 and from July 15 – December 31, except that snagging 
and gigging shall be prohibited within 100 feet of all U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers Locks and Dams and their appurtenances. 
Snagging of game fish is prohibited.

Hatchery Fish Removal 	
It is illegal to:
•	 take fish, frogs, aquatic turtles or other aquatic life from a 

state fish hatchery.

Ice Fishing
Holes cut for ice fishing must be no larger than 10 inches  
in diameter. This applies to public waters where ice fishing  
is allowed.

Seining for Minnows/Minnow Traps
Game fish may not be seined or trapped. A seine may be used 
to obtain minnows for use as bait provided the seine is not 
longer than six feet nor deeper than four feet. A thrownet may 
be used provided the diameter is no larger than six feet and 
mesh size no larger than three-eighths (3/8) inch. Minnow traps 
may be used provided the openings are not larger than one 
inch in diameter. A person may have in his possession no more 
than 50 minnows nor more than a total of 100 aquatic animal 
life (see Turtles, Frogs, Toads and Salamander Regulations on 
page 9) unless obtained from a licensed dealer and a bill of 
sale is provided. Possession of mussels or any parts thereof 
is prohibited. A valid West Virginia fishing license is needed to 
collect minnows and other aquatic life.

The Diamond Darter is a fish species protected under the Federal 
Endangered Species Act. It is illegal to take this fish species and  
use it for any purpose including as live bait for fishing.

Trotlines and Droplines
Trotlines and droplines must be attached to the bank or a tree 
thereon, must bear an identification tag that is legible and 
waterproof, and must be attended every 24 hours. Wire or 
cable lines and hooks with more than one point are prohibited.

It is illegal to:
•	 fish with trotlines and droplines in state-managed 

impoundments except Stonecoal, Hawks Nest, Mt. Storm, 
Cheat and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers lakes. (See chart on 
page 10 for state-managed lakes.)

•	 attach a trotline to public piers and docks or within 50 feet 
of dam appurtenances.

•	 use droplines on the Elk River, Hughes River, Little Kanawha 
River, Middle Island Creek, and South Fork of Hughes River.

•	 jug fish.
•	 hand fish.



HANDICAP ACCESSIBLE  
FISHING AREAS

For more information on developed sites contact:

West Virginia Division of Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources Section 
324 4th Avenue • South Charleston, West Virginia 25303

304.558.2771 or www.wvdnr.gov

OPEN FISHING 
TOURNAMENT SPONSORS

A permit is required from the Division of Natural 
Resources to hold a tournament that is open to the 
public or awards cash or prizes. Club tournaments, 
which are restricted to members competing for points, 
do not require a permit. 

Tournament permit requests should be made to:
WVDNR Wildlife Resources Section 
324 4th Avenue  •  South Charleston, West Virginia 25303

Call (304) 558-2771 for information.
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Spearfishing and Diving 	
1.	 Nongame fish may be taken by spearfishing from  

July 1 – September 30 during daylight hours only.
2.	 Spearfishing is prohibited on the following:

»	 Elk River, from Sutton Dam downstream to the  
U.S. Route 19 bridge at Sutton;

»	 New River, from Bluestone Dam downstream to the lower 
bridge at Hinton.

3.	 Spearguns may be discharged only beneath the surface of 
the water.

4.	 It is illegal to use a bolt having an explosive head or shaft or 
a bolt dipped in or smeared with poison or other chemicals.

5.	 A diver may not spearfish in such a manner as to interfere 
with other anglers.

6.	 A diver may not spearfish in heavily-traveled boat lanes, 
marked swimming areas or marked waterskiing areas.

7.	 “Diver down flag” shall be a red field of not less than 10 
inches x 10 inches dimension with a white diagonal stripe 
not less than 1-1/2 inches wide running upper left to lower 
right. The flag shall be displayed at all times and be affixed 
to a separate flotation 
device. No such flag 
shall be attached to any 
navigational device or 
placed so as to obstruct 
boat traffic. Divers must 
come up within 100 feet 
of flag. All powerboats 
will remain a minimum 
distance of 100 feet away 
from the marker flag. The 
top of the flag shall be at 
least 3 feet above the surface of the water.

8.	 Fish taken by spearfishing may not be returned to the water 
or left on the bank.

Turtle, Frog, Toad, and  
Salamander Regulations
Turtles
•	 The season is closed for the following turtles: wood turtle, 

spotted turtle, northern map turtle, Ouachita map turtle 
and midland smooth softshell turtle. These turtles, their 
eggs, offspring or parts thereof may not be possessed.

•	 Eastern snapping turtle and eastern spiny softshell turtle: 
The daily creel limit of eastern snapping turtle and eastern 
spiny softshell is ten (10) turtles and the possession limit is 
twenty (20) turtles. Only West Virginia residents may take or 
possess turtles.

•	 All other turtles: The total possession limit is four (4) turtles 
in aggregate. Only West Virginia residents may take or 
possess turtles.

•	 Collection dates: Turtles may be taken only between 
January 1 and May 15 and July 15 and December 31.

Frogs and Toads
•	 The season is closed for the following frogs and toads: 

eastern spadefoot toad, northern cricketfrog and northern 
leopard frog. These frogs and toads, their eggs, offspring or 
any parts thereof may not be possessed.

•	 Green and Bull Frogs: See Regulation Summary, page 2. 
Residents and non-residents may take or possess green and 
bull frogs.

•	 All other frogs and toads: The total possession limit for  
all other frogs and toads is four (4) in aggregate. Only  
West Virginia residents may take or possess these “other” 
frogs and toads.

Salamanders
•	 The season is closed for the following salamanders: 

Eastern hellbender, mudpuppy, Cheat Mountain 
salamander, Cow Knob salamander, Shenandoah Mountain 
salamander, smallmouth salamander, streamside 
salamander, green salamander, cave salamander, West 
Virginia spring salamander. These salamanders, their eggs, 
offspring or any parts thereof may not be possessed.

•	 All other salamanders: The total possession limit for all 
other salamanders is ten (10) in aggregate.


