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PURCHASING A LICENSE
Licenses may be obtained as follows:

1.	 At approximately 175 retail agent locations throughout 
the state and designated county clerks offices.  
($3 issuing fee for first purchase and $1 for 
subsequent purchases.)

2.	 www.wvfish.com 
(Official DNR Web site – $2 fee per transaction.)

3.	 Directly from the Hunting and Fishing License Unit 
by phoning (304) 558-2758. ($2 fee per transaction.)

For additional information please contact:
Hunting and Fishing License Unit 
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources 
324 4th Avenue  •  South Charleston, West Virginia 25303

(304) 558-2758  •  wvdnrcustomerservice@wv.gov

Fishing and Hunting Licenses are good for the calendar year. You must purchase new licenses at the 
beginning of each year. All licensed anglers must carry a valid form of identification while fishing.

Resident Licenses
Conservation Stamp(Class CS): ............................................... $5 

Required for licensed anglers except holders of 
Class X, XJ, XS, A-L, B-L, and AB-L licenses.

Hunting and Trapping (Class A):.............................................$19
Fishing (Class B):.......................................................................$19
Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/Trapping (Class X):.................$35 

for ages 18 through 64
Five-day Fishing (Class L):......................................................... $8
Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/ 

Trapping (Class XJ):............................................................. $16 
for ages 15 through 17

Trout Fishing Stamp (Class O):................................................ $10 
Required of licensed anglers fishing for trout,  
except holders of Class XS license.

Nonresident Licenses
Conservation/Law Enforcement Stamp (Class CS/LE):.......$13 

Required for all licensed anglers
Fishing (Class F):.......................................................................$37
Hunting/Trapping (Class E):..................................................$119
One Day Fishing (Class LL):........................................................ $3
Junior Sportsman Hunting/Fishing/ 

Trapping (Class XXJ):.......................................................... $16 
for ages 8 through 17 (not required for fishing under age 15)

National Forest Hunting/Trapping/Fishing(Class I):............. $2 
Required of licensed anglers except for holders of Class XXJ.

Trout Fishing Stamp (Class OO):............................................. $16 
Required of licensed anglers fishing for trout.

Resident and  
Nonresident Licenses
Special Hunting and Fishing License for Persons  

with a Life-threatening Condition (Class DT):............. FREE 
Issued for ages 20 or less. Requires no additional 
licenses or stamps.

Lifetime Licenses
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing 

(Class AB-L)*:......................................................................$805
Combination Hunting, Trapping and Fishing -  

Infant (Class AB-L-I)*: .................................................$402.50 
Must be purchased before age 2.

Senior Hunting, Trapping and Fishing (Class XS)*:.............$25 
Required for anglers who turn 65 on or after 1/1/12.

Fishing (Class B-L)*:................................................................$552
Fishing - Infant (Class B-L-I)*: ..............................................$276 

Must be purchased before age 2.
Trout Fishing (Class O-L)**:...................................................$230
Trout Fishing - Infant (Class O-L-I)**: .................................$115 

Must be purchased before age 2.

* Conservation Stamp not required. 
**Valid only when accompanied by a Class B, AB-L, AB-L, I, B-L,  
    B-L-I, X, or XJ license.

Trout Stamp Requirements
Lifetime license holders who turn 65 after December 31, 2011 
must purchase a trout stamp or the Senior Lifetime License 
which includes that privilege.

Individuals in the following groups do not need a trout stamp:

•	 residents who turned 65 years of age before January 1, 2012
•	 resident and nonresident youth under 15 years of age
•	 residents who are disabled veterans receiving 100% 

permanent service-connected disability, or those who are 
former POWs
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DEFINITION OF RESIDENT
A person who has been a domiciled resident continuously in 
West Virginia for 30 consecutive days or more immediately 
prior to the date of application for a license or permit. 
This includes members of the U.S. armed forces stationed 
outside the state who were West Virginia residents at the 
time of entry into the service and any full-time student of a 
college or university of this state. Nonresident students do 
not qualify for a lifetime license.

MEASURING A FISH

1.	 Lay the fish on top of a ruler on a flat surface.
2.	 Close the mouth of the fish and squeeze the tail fin 

lobes together.
3.	 Measure all fish from the tip of the snout to the tip of 

the tail. Do not measure along the curvature of the 
fish’s body.

The WVDNR has the authority under Federal Welfare Reform 
Legislation (Title 42 of the U.S. Code Section 666 (a) (13) to 
collect the Social Security Number from an applicant for a 
recreational license such as a fishing and hunting license. 
This facilitates collection of child support payments. States 
failing to collect a SSN could face loss of federal welfare 
funds. The DNR takes every precaution including encryption 
and masking to protect your SSN.

Fishing License NOT Required for
1.	 Residents who are totally blind. A physician’s statement or 

certificate must be carried while fishing.
2.	 Residents who turn 65 years of age before 1/1/12. A WV 

driver’s license or WV photo ID card issued by the Division 
of Motor Vehicles shall be carried while fishing.

3.	 Nonresidents or residents under 15 years of age.
4.	 Residents on active duty in the U. S. armed forces while on 

military leave. Leave papers shall be carried while fishing.
5.	 Resident landowners or their resident children, resident 

parents, or bona fide resident tenants of such land may fish 
on their own land during open seasons in accordance with 
the laws and regulations applying to such fishing.

6.	 Residents honorably discharged from the U. S. armed 
forces receiving total permanent service-connected 
disability benefits or former prisoners of war as determined 
by the Veterans Administration or resident disabled 
veterans who qualify under West Virginia Code 17A-10-8 
and are exempted from payment of any motor vehicle 
registration fee by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles. 
Such persons must carry a card issued by the DNR.

7.	 Residents or in-patients of any state mental hospital, 
health or benevolent institution. Such persons must be 
under proper supervision and carry a written statement or 
certificate signed by the superintendent of the institution 
or facility.

8.	 Developmentally disabled residents. A DDFL card issued by 
the DNR must be carried while fishing.

Violations
Point System for Fishing Violations
Persons making false application for a license will have their 
license privileges suspended for one year.

Points assigned for other fishing violations:
10 points	 for use of explosives or poison material in taking fish

6 points		 for taking fish by illegal method, exceeding daily 
	 creel limit, and using bait in a restricted area

4 points		 for all other violations

When a violator accumulates 10 or more fishing or hunting points 
combined, his/her license(s) will be revoked for a period of two years.

Points will be removed on their second anniversary or upon 
restoration of the license(s).

Reporting Boating, Fishing and Hunting  
Law Violations:
In progress 	 dial 911

Not in progress	 call your DNR District Law Enforcement Office  
		  during normal operating hours or report online  
		  at www.wvdnr.gov/LEnforce/Poachers.shtm

1.	 Observe and write down all of the information concerning 
the violation.

2.	 Don’t confront violator.
3.	 Contact a local Natural Resources Police Officer or county 

communication center as soon as possible.
4.	 Become involved in protecting your sport, be willing to 

testify in court.
5.	 Report by text at 844-I-TIP-DNR (484-7367) or on Facebook.

com/DNRpolice.

Stream Pollution or Fish Kills: Call 1-800-642-3074.


