Wildlife Resources
Wildlife Resources Logo
Hunting Home Contact Us News DNR Home
Wildlife Diversity
Fishing
Law Enforcement
Publications
Disability Services
News/Info
Licensing
go Wild!
License Plate
Kid Zone
go Wild

Boar - Archery and Firearms Seasons
2013-2014 Hunting Regulations

Wild Boar Seasons Counties | Concurrent Hunting | Field Tagging and Checking

Season Limit: 1 Archery: October 12 − December 31 Firearms: October 26 − November 2

Boar Hunting License Privileges

Residents Only – No Application Required

To hunt wild boar, hunters must possess one of the following base licenses or license combinations: Class X, Class XJ, Class AHJ, Class XS, Class AB-L, Class A-L or Classes A+BG+CS Classes AH+BG+CS or a free license (Military, Disabled Veteran, former POW, Senior Citizen or Class DT). Underage residents and resident landowners hunting on their own land may hunt wild boar without a license. Holders of Class DT licenses must be accompanied by a parent, guardian, or with written consent of the parent or guardian, or any other competent licensed adult 21 years of age or older.

Regulations

Shooting hours: ½ hour before sunrise to ½ hour after sunset.

Wild boar may be taken during wild boar seasons with a bow (or a crossbow for the holder of a Class Y permit during archery season) or with firearms legal in West Virginia for taking deer (see page 11).

Use of dogs and/or bait is prohibited.

Use of electronic calls is prohibited.

Only one wild boar may be taken per year.

Back to Top

Wild Boar Seasons Counties

Boone, Logan, Raleigh and Wyoming counties are open to boar archery and firearms seasons.

  Archery: October 12 – December 31
Firearms: October 26 – November 2
Boar Map
  Closed: to all boar hunting
 

 

Back to Top

Concurrent Hunting

Concurrent hunting of small game, using a shotgun or a bow, is permitted during wild boar seasons. Concurrent hunting of deer and bear, in counties where legal, is permitted during boar seasons.

Boar hunters are required to wear at least 400 square inches of blaze orange over his or her outer clothing while hunting in a county or part thereof open during a deer firearms season. This does not apply to waterfowl hunters and persons engaged in farming activities on their own land.

Back to Top

Field Tagging and Checking

Each person killing a boar must attach a completed field tag to the boar or remain with the boar and have upon their person a completed field tag before moving the carcass from where it was killed. A person who does not have a tag must make one. This tag must bear the hunter’s name, address, hunting license number (if required) and the date, time and county of kill. Immediately upon arriving at a residence, camp, hunting lodge, vehicle or vessel the field tag shall be attached to the boar and must remain on the carcass until it is tagged with an official game checking tag.

All boar killed must be taken to an official game checking station or a Natural Resource Police officer in the county of kill within 24 hours for retagging. The game checking tag shall remain on the boar until it is dressed for consumption.

Back to Top


HOT TOPICS...
Trout Stocking |  Wildlife Viewing |  Licenses/Permits | 
 | Fishing Waters |  Park Regulations | 
Contact Webmaster | dnr.wildlife@wv.gov
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources