The Class Q (resident) and Class QQ (non-resident) hunting program offers expanded vehicular public land access and special privileges to differently abled hunters who meet application requirements established in West Virginia Chapter 20 natural resources laws. This program originated as a partnership between the George Washington and Jefferson National Forests, the Monongahela National Forest and the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources.
In following years, the program was expanded to include multiple state wildlife management areas (WMAs) statewide. The Class Q/QQ program provides improved access and unique opportunities to hunters who cope with physical challenges in their lives to ensure that hunting truly is for everyone.
The Class Q/QQ permit holder is entitled to access by vehicle a number of limited-access gated roads on public lands in West Virginia that are open to hunting. In conjunction with a regular hunting license (where applicable), this permit allows for hunting out of a motorized vehicle with the engine turned off and allows another person who is at least 16 years old to assist a Class Q/QQ hunter. The assistant may not hunt while he or she is assisting the Class Q/QQ hunter and may not hunt from the vehicle. Only the Class Q/QQ hunter and assistant may be occupants of the vehicle.
Those hunters with permanent and irreversible respiratory, cardiovascular, and/or lower extremity use limitations may be eligible for a Class Q/QQ special use permit through the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources. Applications must be certified by a licensed physician to be considered for approval by the agency. Application forms for the Class Q/QQ permit are available at all WVDNR offices or on the online WVDNR licensing and game check system.
To find your nearest Class Q/QQ hunting opportunity, contact your local WVDNR district office by telephone or use the DNR’s online hunting map tool. Designated Class Q/QQ roads on public lands are shown in purple on the map. Class Q/QQ hunters may also hunt on private land with written permission, or along any public land access road provided the vehicle is not parked on the road right-of-way, in front of a closed gate or within 500 feet of any dwelling or residence.