Anyone born on or after Jan. 1, 1975 must first successfully complete a Certified Hunter Education course before purchasing a base hunting license. (Chapter §20-2-30a(a) WV Code) When purchasing a hunting license, the person must present a certificate of completion to the agent issuing the license.
The first hunter education class taught in West Virginia was in 1968. It consisted of a short talk and a movie. In 1971, West Virginia won the National Rifle Association award for outstanding contributions to the field of hunter education. Today the course takes an average of 12 hours to complete. Over 400,000 students have passed the course since it began. This could not have been accomplished without the help of over 200 trained volunteer instructors who donate hundreds of hours and drive thousands of miles each year.
To find and register for a hunter education class, visit www.register-ed.com/
The traditional hunter education course is offered for free, and topics include gun safety, wildlife management, ethics, survival/first aid, game identification, and how to hunt safely and ethically. You will enjoy listening to volunteer instructors and natural resources police officers pass on their expertise and hunting experiences, talking with your fellow hunters during class breaks, and getting familiar with the total hunting experience. Extra help is available for those who may need it. Students who have not reached their 10th birthday by the written test date of the class will not receive a permanent hunter education certification. Students can locate and register for the free traditional hunter education class at www.register-ed.com/.
Anyone 10 years old or older, may opt to take an approved online hunter education course. During the online course you will periodically take quizzes, and print a practical exam voucher. Once all quizzes are complete, bring this voucher with you to the hands-on / written exam portion. After completing the online portion, students must register at www.register-ed.com/ to complete the hunter education requirement for the hands-on / written exam. The hunter education card will be issued after successfully completing the hands-on / written exam. The online option with hands-on / written is a two-step process.
Lost or Misplaced your Hunter Education Card?
If you have lost or misplaced your boater education card, contact your local WVDNR Law Enforcement Office, pick up an application for a duplicate card, complete it, and mail it along with a $10 check or money order to one of the addresses listed on the application. Click this link to obtain an Application for Lost Boater Education Card in a printable PDF file format. (You will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.) If there is no record of your completion of the boater education class, the $10 will be returned to you.
The Ten Commandments of Gun Safety
- Treat every gun as if it were loaded.
- Always keep the muzzle pointed in a safe direction.
- Be sure of your target and what is beyond it.
- Be sure the barrel and action are clear of obstructions.
- Unload firearms when not in use.
- Never point a firearm at anything you do not want to shoot.
- Never climb a fence or tree or jump a ditch with a loaded firearm.
- Never shoot a bullet at a flat, hard surface or water.
- Store firearms and ammunition separately.
- Avoid alcoholic beverages and other mind-altering drugs before and during shooting.
Hunter Education Staff
|Lt. Warren E. Goodson||Charleston HQ||304 558-2784|
|Sgt. James Crawley||Farmington||304 825-6787|
|Sgt. Timothy White||French Creek||304-924-6211|
|Sgt. Michael Lott||Romney||304 822-3551|
|Sgt. Bob Johnson||Beckley||304 256-6945|
|Sgt. Gregg F. Mullins||Forks of Coal||304-756-1023|
|Sgt. Dwayne Duffield||Parkersburg||304 420-4550|
Why you need to buy RB/RRB stamps before the deer archery season
The start of West Virginia’s 2021 deer archery season is Sept. 25, which means time is running out to purchase your hunting license and RB/RRB stamps if you want to harvest additional deer. Hunting licenses and stamps can be purchased…
West Virginia’s archery/crossbow seasons start Sept. 25. Get ready with this preseason checklist.
If you’ve spent the last few weeks anxiously waiting for the fall hunting seasons to start, your patience is about to be rewarded because West Virginia’s archery/crossbow seasons for deer, bear and wild boar open on Saturday, Sept. 25. If…
WV State Parks reconstructing original gateway entrance at Coopers Rock
An iconic wooden gateway that welcomed visitors to Coopers Rock State Forest in the 40s and 50s is being reconstructed as part of a series of improvements at the popular state forest. The project is a collaboration between the West…
WVDNR encourages private landowners to apply for Wild Yard certification
In an effort to create more natural habitat for wildlife around the state, the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources is encouraging landowners to join its Wild Yards program. The program, which has 300 members around the state, recognizes the…
WV State Parks announces return of guided elk viewing tours at Tomblin WMA
Wildlife enthusiasts and outdoor lovers who want a chance to see the Mountain State’s growing elk herd up close and in a natural setting can now book a seat on a guided elk viewing tour organized by West Virginia State…
WVDNR installs migratory animal tracking system at Hanging Rock
West Virginia Division of Natural Resources biologists have installed a radio telemetry station at the Hanging Rock Raptor Observatory in Monroe County to study the movement of birds, butterflies and other migratory animal species. The station is part of an…
WVDNR surveys Gandy Creek to assess weekly trout numbers
The West Virginia Division of Natural Resources recently surveyed Gandy Creek to assess trout numbers in one of the state’s most popular fishing streams and biologists for the agency say their findings show there are still plenty of trout to catch in between stockings.
New West Virginia Wildlife Center biologist ready for busy summer
The West Virginia State Wildlife Center has a new resident biologist and while he’s only been on the job for a few months he already has some advice for people planning a visit in the coming months.
WVDNR partners with Toyota to promote pollinator conservation
Private landowners in the Kanawha Valley had a hands-on opportunity to learn how to create a pollinator habitat on their property through a recent workshop hosted by the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources and Toyota Motor Manufacturing West Virginia, Inc.
WVDNR studying deer population around state
Thanks to a new West Virginia Division of Natural Resources study, hunters, conservationists and wildlife enthusiasts will soon know more about the state’s white-tailed deer population, their survival raises, behavior and movement patterns.
New law prohibiting possession of most native reptiles, amphibians now in effect
New regulations making it unlawful to take or possess most native reptiles and amphibians for any reason are now in effect in West Virginia.