West Virginia includes two national forests where you can enjoy the outdoors—the Monongahela National Forest and the combined George Washington and Jefferson National Forests.

Located from Preston County south to Greenbrier County, the Monongahela National Forest has 10 wildlife management areas within its boundaries, including Beaver Dam, Blackwater, Cheat, Cranberry, Little River, Neola, Otter Creek, Potomac, Rimel and Tea Creek.

George Washington and Jefferson National Forests are located in the rolling Appalachian Mountains of eastern West Virginia and western Virginia. It includes Cove Creek, Shenandoah, Potts Creek and Wardensville wildlife management areas where you can hunt, fish and enjoy nature.  

Wildlife management areas within the national forests are operated under a cooperative agreement between the US Forest Service and the Division of Natural Resources.

For more information on US Forest please visit www.fs.usda.gov.