To obtain a Whitewater Outfitter and Guide License, you must apply with the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, completing the following steps.

  1. Submit a license application with a letter of intent addressed to the Director of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources and a non-refundable application fee of $250.00. Applications submitted no later than March 15 of each calendar year will be considered for issuance within that year and will become effective January 1 of the following calendar year. Submit applications to West Virginia Division of Natural Resources, Law Enforcement Section, 324 4th Avenue, Building 74, South Charleston, WV 25303.
  2. After approval by the Director and review by the WV DNR Law Enforcement Section, applications shall be referred to the Whitewater Commission’s LAC sub-committee for evaluation and recommendation. The Commission shall act on each application no later than September 31.
  3. After approval, the applicant must send $500 per license issued for the annual license fee.
  4. Before operation, the licensee must have a $1,000 Outfitters and Guides Surety Bond written and submit the original along with a copy of its current Commercial General Liability Insurance. Also, a WVDNR Police Officer will inspect the Outfitter and Guide’s equipment, location, CPR and First Aid certification, and etc.