Wildlife Resources
Wildlife Resources Logo
Hunting Home Contact Us News DNR Home
Wildlife Diversity
Fishing
Law Enforcement
Publications
Disability Services
News/Info
Licensing
go Wild!
License Plate
Kid Zone
go Wild

Turkey - 2014 Fall and 2015 Spring Seasons
2014-2015 Hunting Regulations

Spring Gobbler Season Regulations | Spring Gobbler Survey

ATTENTION SPRING TURKEY HUNTERS

Starting with the 2015 Spring Gobbler Seasons, you may check game by one of the following three methods:

  1. Going online to www.wvhunt.com.
  2. Stopping at any hunting and fishing license agent. For a current list of license agents, visit www.wvdnr.gov. Note: you are not required to bring the animal to the license agent.
  3. By calling 1-844-824-3251 (1-844-UCheck1). Hunters must be registered in the system and know their unique DNR ID number to use the telephone check option – to obtain a DNR ID number (which will be valid for your lifetime) please see information below.

If you are not required to buy a license (e.g., landowner, underage, etc.), you may visit any license agent or log onto www.wvhunt.com after January 1, 2015 to obtain a DNR ID number.

If you are a lifetime license holder (e.g., AB-L, A-L, XS, etc.), you will already be in the system. To obtain your DNR ID number, visit www.wvhunt.com or any license agent after January 1, 2015.

Holders of annual base licenses (e.g., X, XJ, E, etc.) will receive their DNR ID number at the time of license purchase.

No matter what classification of hunter you are, your DNR ID number will be valid for your lifetime and will be used in all future game checking transactions with the DNR.

Upon finishing the electronic game check process, you will be given a 13-digit number that will serve as verification that you have completed the game checking process. This unique number must be written down on a sheet of paper with your name and address, or on your field tag, and attached to the animal. This number shall be affixed to the animal or parts thereof and remain affixed until it is dressed for consumption or processed into commercial fur. It will let the Natural Resources Police officers know that the animal has been officially checked.

You may view your game checking history at www.wvhunt.com.

2014 Fall Turkey season regulations

Season Limit: 1

Shooting hours: 1/2 hour before sunrise to 1/2 hour after sunset.
Only one either-sex turkey may be taken during the fall hunting season with either bow or gun.

It is illegal:

  1. to use electronic calls.
  2. to hunt with the use of bait.

October 11-18

October 11-18 and October 27 − November 1

October 11-18 and October 27 −
November 15

Barbour
Harrison
Jackson
Marion
Mason
Monongalia
Pleasants
Ritchie
Summers
Taylor
Tyler
Wetzel
Wyoming

Brooke
Hancock
Marshall
Ohio
Preston
Wirt
Wood

Berkeley
Grant
Greenbrier
Hampshire
Hardy
Mineral
Monroe
Morgan
Nicholas
Pendleton Pocahontas
Randolph
Tucker
Webster

Turkey Map

Back to Top

2015 Spring Gobbler Season Regulations

Season Limit: 2 bearded turkeys Statewide: April 27 - May 23, 2015

Shooting hours: ½ hour before sunrise to 1 p.m.

It is illegal to:

  • have an uncased firearm or a bow in your possession in the woods after 1 p.m.
  • hunt with dogs
  • use electronic calls
  • hunt with the use of bait
  • take more than one bearded turkey per day

Youth Spring Gobbler Season

A special one-day youth spring gobbler season will be held on Saturday, April 25, 2015. Class Q/QQ and Class XS license holders are not eligible.

The bag limit is one bearded turkey and the harvested bird will count toward the hunter's annual bag limit. Only shotguns using shot size no larger than #4 or smaller than #7½ are legal.

Youth hunters:

  • must be at least 8 and less than 18 years old; youth hunters age 15-17 must comply with all licensing requirements (see pages 41).
  • between the ages 8-14 must be accompanied by a licensed adult who cannot carry a gun or a bow and must remain close enough to render advice and assistance.

and, if a nonresident,

  • possess a Class XXJ license + CS/LE stamp or Class AAHJ+CS/LE stamp.

Nonresident adults accompanying youth hunters must possess Class E+WW+CS/LE licenses and if hunting on National Forest lands, a Class I stamp.

Back to Top

Spring Gobbler Survey

The Division of Natural Resources conducts an annual Spring Gobbler Survey. Spring turkey hunters interested in participating in the survey should contact:

Division of Natural Resources Operations Center
c/o Dr. Randy Tucker
P.O. Box 67
Elkins, WV 26241
(304) 637-0245
email: Randy.L.Tucker@wv.gov

Back to Top


HOT TOPICS...
Trout Stocking |  Wildlife Viewing |  Licenses/Permits | 
 | Fishing Waters |  Park Regulations | 
Contact Webmaster | dnr.wildlife@wv.gov
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources