Wildlife Resources
Wildlife Resources Logo
Hunting Home Contact Us News DNR Home
Wildlife Diversity
Fishing
Law Enforcement
Publications
Disability Services
News/Info
Licensing
go Wild!
License Plate
Kid Zone
go Wild

Share your family hunting and fishing traditions in West Virginia!

From the early settlers to today’s sportsmen and women, hunting and fishing have been proud parts of American heritage. To help preserve this tradition, the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources designed a series of hunts, regulations and a license for youth anglers and hunters … making it easier than ever to pass a family tradition to the next generation.

Father and daughter fishingYouth Fishing

Licenses*

  • All youth anglers (resident and nonresident) 14 years old and younger fish for FREE.
  • Resident and nonresident youth, ages 15 to 17 are required to have Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class XJ or XXJ). Nonresident anglers will also need a Conservation/Law Enforcement stamp (Class CS/LE).

*Additional stamps may be required. Check current WV Fishing Regulations for more information.

Children/Class Q Fishing Areas

Current list and special regulations

Youth Hunting

Adult and youth fall turkey huntingLicenses*

  • Resident youth 14 years old and younger hunt for FREE.
  • Resident youth 15 through 17 years of age are required to have a Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class XJ).
  • Nonresident youth, ages eight to 17, are required to have Junior Sportsman Hunting/Trapping/Fishing License (Class XXJ) and a Conservation/Law Enforcement stamp (Class CS/LE).

*All youth must be accompanied by licensed adult, at least 21 years of age, and additional stamps may be required. Check current WV Hunting Regulations for more information.

Hunts

Special Split Youth and Class Q Antlerless Season - 2013
Spring Gobbler Hunt - 2014
Small Game Hunt - 2013
Migratory Bird Hunt - 2013

Purchasing Fishing and Hunting Licenses

WVDNR Online Hunting and Fishing Licenses Sales
to buy your fishing and hunting licenses
online or call (304) 558-2758.
(There will be a $2 fee per transaction.)

 

The following links may be helpful in planning a West Virginia fishing/hunting excursion.

Fishing Regulations
Public Fishing Areas and Boating Access
Hunting Regulations
Wildlife Management Areas

Accommodations

Camping is offered at several wildlife management areas, national forests, and state parks and forests.

If something more comfortable is desired …

West Virginia’s state parks offer a wide assortment of accommodations. Spend the night in a state park lodge with WiFi connectivity, fitness room and an indoor pool, relax in a log cabin nestled in the woods, or stay in a modern cabin with all of the amenities of home.

VisitWV State Parks website link
for a complete park listing and information
on seasonal fishing and hunting packages.

 

HOT TOPICS...
Trout Stocking |  Wildlife Viewing |  Licenses/Permits | 
 | Fishing Waters |  Park Regulations | 
Contact Webmaster | dnr.wildlife@wv.gov
2003 West Virginia Division of Natural Resources