News Release: July 13, 2021

CHARLESTON, W.VA. — The West Virginia Division of Natural Resources announced today that Gov. Jim Justice has appointed seven members to the state’s newly restructured Natural Resources Commission.

“Our Natural Resources Commission represents all our hunters and anglers in West Virginia and now a West Virginian from each DNR district has a voice on the commission,” said Gov. Justice. “As a lifelong hunter and angler, it’s my honor to make these appointments as my administration continues to improve the hunting and fishing experience in West Virginia.”

The commission, which now includes one commissioner from each of the WVDNR’s six districts and one at-large commissioner, advises the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources on game and fish regulations. The restructuring is the result of the passage of SB 514 during the 2021 regular legislative session.

Gov. Justice has appointed the following people to the commission:

  1. Dave Milne: District 1 (Term ends June 30, 2025)
  2. Byron K. Chambers: District 2 (Term ends June 30, 2025)
  3. Jerod A. Harman: District 3 (Term ends June 30, 2025)
  4. Thomas O. Doston: District 4 (Term ends June 30, 2024)
  5. Gregory K. Burnette: District 5 (Term ends June 30, 2024)
  6. Janet Hamric Hodge: District 6 (Term ends June 30, 2023)
  7. Jeffrey S. Bowers: At Large (Term ends June 30, 2023)

As part of the restructuring, commissioners are limited to serving two consecutive four-year terms. Previously, terms lasted seven years and there were no limits on the number of terms a commissioner could serve. Gov. Justice’s appointments will now go to the West Virginia Senate for final confirmation.