When it comes to participating in West Virginia’s many hunting seasons, there’s a lot to remember. But you don’t have to learn everything on your own, thanks to hunter education classes provided by the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources.

The class is open to anyone who wants to learn more about hunting, but you have to complete the course and be certified in hunter education before you can purchase a base license. This requirement applies to everyone born after Jan. 1, 1975.

The two day, 10-hour course is free and covers firearm safety, hunting ethics, first aid and conservation. A portion of the class can be completed online for $25, but you still have to register for a written exam that must be completed in person.

To sign up for the class visit www.register-ed.com/programs/westvirginia.

It’s also important to note that Hunter Education classes aren’t just for people who want to try their luck in an upcoming hunting season. The class is helpful for people wanting to learn survival skills or how to be safe when handling a gun.

Classes are taught byWV DNR law enforcement officers who are experienced hunters and experts in hunting regulations. Hunting safety protocols not only keep you safe, they can save your life. To learn more about West Virginia’s hunter education program, click here.