Hope you have plans for a hunting adventure soon because the spring gobbler season is scheduled to open on Monday, April 20 and turkey hunters can anticipate increased harvest opportunities.
As we count down the days to opening day, now is a perfect time to get ready for the season by scouting the woods on your property or at a nearby wildlife management area.
And with everyone staying inside and avoiding crowds due to the coronavirus, who doesn’t need an excuse to get outside, relax and forget about your worries. Nothing is more distancing than being alone in the woods, sitting with your back against a tree in the middle of nowhere, trying to call in ole’ Tom.
The statewide four-week spring gobbler season will run through May 16 and adult hunters can harvest one bearded bird per day with a season bag limit of two.
Increased Harvest Opportunities
Each year, our biologists make spring turkey season harvest predictions by looking at brood reports from two years earlier because the average harvested gobbler is a 2-year-old bird. In 2018, brood production was 16 percent above the five-year average, so hunters can anticipate more harvest opportunities this year.
Youth Turkey Season Expanded
We’re also expanding this year’s youth turkey season to include an extra day and give kids more opportunities to get out and enjoy a hunting adventure.
In past years, the one-day youth turkey season was on the Saturday before opening day of the regular spring turkey season. This year, the youth turkey season will be Saturday and Sunday, April 18-19.
Youth under the age of 18 can harvest one bearded bird, which counts towards their season bag limit of two.
Spring Gobbler Survey
If you are interested in helping our biologists conduct the 2020 Spring Gobbler Survey, contact our Game Management Services Office by calling 304-637-0245.
Hunting Regulations and License Requirements
Killing hens during the spring season and hunting turkeys over bait is illegal. Turkey hunters are encouraged to report any illegal activity to a DNR Law Enforcement officer. The West Virginia Chapter of the National Wild Turkey Federation also pays a $100 reward for information that leads to the arrest and conviction of anyone using bait to kill wild turkeys.
All hunters age 15 and older are required to have a West Virginia hunting license and a valid form of identification while hunting.
Happy hunting and have a safe season!